Collection Agency

No worries the collection agency isn’t calling.  Over the last several months, as I’ve read my favourite blogs and started to think about what I would like to blog about, I’ve discovered that many bloggers are collectors.  They like to collect things and of course collect memories.  I’ve never been much of a collector, except for maybe the memories part.  I do have a small collection of postcards from places I’ve been, and a fridge full of magnets too, but I’ve never really considered myself a ‘collector’ of these things.  My husband, on the other hand, is a collector of many (many) things.  Everything from coins, to interesting soda cans/bottles to shot glasses, and even license plates.

And we've been to every state you see here!
And we’ve been to every state you see here!

So I decided I should start collecting something.  I honestly didn’t give it too much thought and when I saw that one of my favourite bloggers collected Pyrex, I thought, that’s a good collection.  Pretty AND useful.  I must say, when I saw a circa-’70s primary bowl set online, it conjured up memories of making banana bread with my mother using those bowls.  I even remember breaking the green bowl when I was in the tenth grade.  I’m pretty sure my dad still has the remaining three bowls, but I thought I should start my own collection.

So over the last couple of months I managed to thrift a whole bunch of Pyrex, and at pretty good prices too.  Here is what I have so far:

The Pyrex primary bowl set reminds me of my childhood.
The Pyrex primary bowl set reminds me of my childhood.

 

It's so nice to have the whole set, even the green one.
It’s so nice to have the whole set, even the green one.

 

Spring Blossom bowl and Daisy Flower casserole dish
Spring Blossom bowl and Daisy Flower casserole dish

 

photo 3 (2)

 

My corner display cabinet is starting to look good!
My corner display cabinet is starting to look good!

With the exception of the little red and mustard-coloured fridge dishes, I think I’ve used all of my Pyrex so far.  In fact, I had a nice green Spring Blossom casserole dish, that slipped out of my hand, hit the granite counter-top and broke into a million little pieces on my kitchen floor.  I’ve literally never seen anything shatter like that before.

So it’s been kinda fun collecting these dishes, and my girls are already rolling their eyes and trying to steer me clear of the Pyrex when we’re at the flea market.  Which is weird, because we only go to the flea market so my husband can buy coins for his coin collection and they don’t roll their eyes at that.  Paying money for money, as I jokingly remind him.  What fun and interesting things do you like to collect?

Ann

7 thoughts on “Collection Agency

Leave a Reply

