The Big Apple

My day job has had me criss-crossing the county over the last few weeks, so I feel like I’ve barely slept at all in my own bed.  I really shouldn’t complain too much, I do love hotels… well, OK, I love when someone else makes the bed every day.  Don’t you just love climbing into a freshly made bed?  Anyway, my last trip brought me to New York City.  I love New York City.  I’ve been to NYC a bunch of times so I’ve done the touristy things (Statue of Liberty, Times Square, Central Park, Empire State Building etc.)  But because this trip was for work, there was precious free time for all the fun NYC has to offer.

This was the first time I was staying in the heart of it all, Times Square.  Most of the other times, particularly when I’ve been there on my own dime, I’ve actually stayed in much more affordable New Jersey.  So it was fun to stay at the Marriott in Times Square.  I actually had a room on a fairly low floor, but it had a decent view of all the action and I could even see the infamous ball.

The action in Times Square.  Thank goodness for black-out curtains.
The action in Times Square. Thank goodness for black-out curtains.

I literally had about 3 hours of free time in total, so I made the requisite stop at Sephora (must stock up on American cosmetics) and then came across the Cake Boss Café, which is at 42nd and 8th.

Did someone say cake?
Did someone say cake?

 

Mmmmmmm........
Mmmmmmm……..

I had a coffee and cannoli.  I’m no cannoli expert, but this one was delicious.  The coffee, not so much.  But it was fun to see the little shop and all the baked goods.

While wandering around in Time Square I noticed a kid holding a Nintendo store bag.  I thought, “There’s a Nintendo Store?  I must find this place!”  A quick Google search on my phone showed that it was mere blocks away!  With two kids who love (OK, who’s kidding who, they’re obsessed) with Super Mario Bros, I had to check this place out.  My apologies for the picture quality, my hands were practically shaking as I walked in… it was like Super Mario on steroids!  What to buy first?!

Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach oh my!
Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach oh my!
Stuffies, stuffies and more stuffies!
Stuffies, stuffies and more stuffies!

After dropping a ridiculous wad of cash (but knowing that I would be Mother-of-the-Year when I got home) I headed back to my hotel to pick up my luggage and bid New York farewell till the next time.

Good bye Naked Cowboy, good bye.
Good bye Naked Cowboy, good bye.

What are your favourite places in the Big Apple?

Ann

 

Leave a Reply

