Time-capsule

 

I was at a street sale the other week, and for the most part didn’t find anything worthy of purchasing.  Lots of people selling baby/kids stuff, but nothing else really interesting.  Well, that is until I got to the corner house.  You know when you’re garage-sailing and you can just tell this house is gonna have some good stuff, well this guy didn’t disappoint.  The home-owner was a retired radio dj, so his garage was a virtual time-capsule of milk crates filled with old vinyl, cool signs on the wall, various vintages of turntables and other neat stuff.  I don’t really have a need for any of those things, but it was kinda cool to browse through it all.

As I was making my way back down the driveway, I spotted a box under a table filled with old magazines.  It turned out to be about two decades worth of Science and Mechanics, with a handful of Popular Science thrown in – all from the ’50s and ’60s.  I must say, it was a pretty cool find.  I found myself immediately leafing through the magazines mesmerized by the old-school ads, the retro cars and all the crazy articles; “Build an electric clothes dryer”, “Pick the right antenna for your Top TV reception” and of course the very necessary “How to tame wild hummingbirds.”

I decided to buy a couple and ended up paying ‘face-value’ for them – yup, I paid what they paid back in 1955,  25 cents.  I bought two Science and Mechanics (1952 & 1955)  and one Popular Science (1960), mostly because the cover page was for the Chevy Corvair and I knew my grandma owned a Corvair back in the ’60’s, so I thought my dad might like to browse through it.

JUNE13 052JUNE13 055

In 1955 apparently it was easier to build your own clothes dryer than to purchase one.
In 1955 apparently it was easier to build your own clothes dryer than to purchase one.
There are some serious directions.  Although I suspect getting your hands on some asbestos board to build this dryer may be a little tricky!
These are some serious directions. Although I suspect getting your hands on some asbestos board to build this dryer may be a little tricky to do in 2014!

I also like this article for spray-it-on suede, as a potential home-based business no less!  In fact, I was surprised at all of the ads for home-based businesses.  There were ads for how to make money at photography, doing door-to-door sales of “Presto” a chemical in a can designed to put out fires (it looked more like a can of mousse than anything able to actually put out a fire) and plastic laminating as a one man business.

JUNE13 046

JUNE13 051

But my personal favourite has to be “The Snooper – find a fortune in uranium.”  Just send away for the Geiger counter and let the money start rolling in.  It even comes with it’s own radioactive sample, just so you know it works.  And of course it comes with an ‘ironclad money-back guarantee.’  If the irony doesn’t kill you first.

photo

It was great reading through all these old magazines and basically taking a walk back in time.  I’m not entirely sure what I’m going to do with them, but I’m toying with the idea of matting and framing the covers since the colours are so vibrant and the look so retro, so stay tuned, that may be a future post.

Ann

Leave a Reply

