The Show-Me-State

My day job had me in St. Louis last week for a number of meetings.  When I found out that I would be going to St. Louis, I was actually pretty excited (funny, none of my colleagues were nearly as thrilled.)  You see, one of my Bucket List items is to visit every US state.  Prior to this trip I had visited 41 states, but I had not been to Missouri, the Show-Me-State.

So after taking a quick look at a map of the Midwest I discovered that with a little bit of driving, I could actually knock off three other states too!  Kansas, Oklahoma and Arkansas.  So I tacked on two days of vacation and had myself a little roadtrip.  But first up, let’s talk about St. Louis.

I managed to squeeze in a quick half-day of sight-seeing in St. Louis and met up with a colleague for lunch in Forest Park.  I had planned to go up in the famous Arch, but I discovered that only one side of the Arch was actually running and it was a 4.5 hour wait, so I just took lots of nice pictures:

StLouis 2
I must say, this Arch is pretty cool!

StLouis 3

StLouis 7
It’s kinda hard to believe that you can actually go up in this thing.

StLouis 6

StLouis 5

StLouis 1
Old Courthouse in St. Louis
A beautiful tree-lined path near the arch.  The fall colours were in their glory.
A beautiful tree-lined path near the Arch. The fall colours were in their glory.
StLouis 9
This is Red-Bird territory!
The International Pavilion in Forest Park, which was part of the World's Fair in 1904 (And also the host of the 1904 Olympics... which is a little-known fact)
The International Pavilion in Forest Park, which was part of the World’s Fair held in St. Louis in 1904 (And another little-know fact, St. Louis also hosted the 1904 Olympics… of course I’d know that!)

StLouis 12

The Boathouse at Forest Park.  A lovely place for lunch or to rent paddle boats.
The Boathouse at Forest Park. A lovely place for lunch or to rent paddle boats.

Overall I was actually pleasantly surprised by St. Louis.  I had honestly expected a dirtier, more run-down city that was as tough as nails, but what I found was actually a very nice, clean  and welcoming city that was nothing likes its reputation.

Next post: My little road trip to OK, KS & AR!

Ann

 

Leave a Reply

