2014 Round-Up

Well, it’s that time of year when Lists of the Best/Worst/Craziest/Tastiest etc. abound in plenty. So I thought I might as well join the fun, right? I love lists, particularly To Do Lists and I have one on the go right now. Though oddly, this blog post is not on that list. Any-hoo.

Back at the beginning of 2014 I actually wrote down a bunch of Resolutions for 2014, which I think was the first time I had actually written them down ever. And it turns out it is true what they say, if you write it down (or tell someone) you are more likely to actually accomplish it. So here are a couple of the things I wrote down last year:

Drink more water/drink less soft drinks: I have to say, I did really well on this task. I was drinking more soft drinks than I care to admit and so back in January I committed to drinking only 1 pop a week or less. We stopped buying pop altogether and I got a nice, clear drinking mug for my desk at work. We also moved offices buildings in March and our new building has no pop machine so that was a bonus. But you know what? It was actually easier than I thought and there were weeks when I never drank a pop once. I now easily drink 3-4 glasses of water at work a day, so that is a huge improvement over zero I would have to say.

Read 20 books: I started off in January 2014 with finishing 3 books, so I thought 20 would be a breeze. Well, life caught up with me and then I reduced that number to 15. I didn’t make it to 15, but I got pretty close. I finished 11 books:

  1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  2. Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin
  3. The 100 Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson
  4. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
  5. Far To Go by Alison Pick
  6. The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden by Jonas Jonasson
  7. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  8. Before I Go To Sleep by S. J. Watson
  9. Love Anthony by Lisa Genova
  10. Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
  11. Where I Belong by Alan Doyle

My fav’s in the list above would have to be #3, #4, # 5, #7, #10 and #11 – all worth a read!

Far To Go by  Canadian author Alison Pick
Far To Go by Canadian author Alison Pick

Start a Collection: This was kind of fun and although it’s expanding slowing, it’s nice to have a collection. You can read about my Pyrex collection here. I wonder if I should start another collection for 2015?

It's so nice to have the whole set, even the green one.
It’s so nice to have the whole set, even the green one.

Go Skiing at least 3 times: In my high-school and university days I was up on the slopes regularly throughout the winter. But as any parent knows, once kids come along many of these activities fall off the radar. I love skiing, and after skating, it is probably the only other sport that I’m actually half-decent at. I’ve told many people that my daughters must learn the three S’s – Swimming (‘cuz it’s a safety thing), Skating (‘cuz we’re Canadian and I think it comes with citizenship) and Skiing (‘cuz it’s a great life-long sport and honestly, girls who can ski are pretty cool in my books). I made it up to the slopes three times this year, so yeah!!

Start a Blog: Well, that one’s done! But I must say starting one and maintaining one are two very different things. I did pledge to post at least once or twice a month so I just got this post up in the nick of time.

Some things that were on my 2014 Resolution list that didn’t make it past January:

  • Stop worrying (yeah, like that is ever going to happen.  Who was I kidding?)
  • Stop skipping meals – I don’t generally skip meals, but getting two kids out the door in the morning makes having breakfast for me kinda tough.  My girls, on the other hand would eat breakfast three times a day if they could.
  • Take Omega-3/fish oil – I did some reading up on this and I thought it would be good to add this to my diet since we aren’t a fish-loving family.  But did you see the size of those fish oil tablets you have to swallow?  And you have to take two tablets up to three times a day!  I haven’t abandoned this entirely, I just need some other ways to boast my Omega-3 intake.  Suggestions welcome.

Oh and I almost forgot. The best part of 2014 was taking the family to Newfoundland. I briefly blogged about one of the cottages we rented here, but I didn’t really blog about the trip itself. So here are some pics:

A fishing stage near Twillingate, NL
A fishing stage near Twillingate, NL
The icebergs were spectacular!
The icebergs were spectacular!
I heart NFLD
I heart NFLD
The incredible scenery on a hiking trail near Twillingate, NL
The incredible scenery on a hiking trail near Twillingate, NL
Bonavista Lighthouse.
Cape Bonavista Lighthouse.
Elliston, NL - the Root Cellar capital of the world.
Elliston, NL – the Root Cellar capital of the world.
The 'jelly-bean' houses of St. John's, NL
The ‘jelly-bean’ houses of St. John’s, NL

It was truly a wonderful trip!  And no, I didn’t photoshop in the blue sky – we lucked out with incredible weather the week we were there.  It did rain, don’t get me wrong, but those were travelling days so it all worked out.

And now with 2015 mere hours away, I guess I need to start thinking about my Resolutions for next year? But I’ll stop worrying about that first.

Happy 2015 everyone!

Ann

One thought on “2014 Round-Up

Leave a Reply

