2015 Round Up (a little late…)

Phew!  So far this year is not off to a good blogging start.  Sharing my 2015 round-up on day five of 2016 – yikes!  Oh well, life goes on.  So how well did you do on your resolutions from 2015?  Unlike 2014, I didn’t write down my resolutions for 2015, and guess what? I didn’t really achieve any of them. So I am definitely writing down my resolutions for 2016.

And since I didn’t write them down, I don’t really know what they are. This is more-or-less what I think in my head were my 2015 resolutions:

Read 20 books

Yes, that was a 2014 resolution too, but I still think it’s a good one to have. I didn’t do too bad this year, but clearly my annual book reading resolution should be 11, because that’s how many books I read again this year. Here’s my 2015 list in no particular order:

  1. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  2. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  3. Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee
  4. Still Life by Louise Penny
  5. Dead Cold by Louise Penny
  6. House in the Sky by Amanda Lindhout & Sara Corbett
  7. Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline
  8. The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
  9. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows
  10. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
  11. Wild by Cheryl Strayed
books2
#4 and #5 are missing from the stack above as they were loaned to me by a friend.

No super stand-outs from the list above for me, but I would recommend #10, #1 and #6. And if you like a good mystery, I really enjoyed #4 & #5, both of which are set in the fictional Quebec town of Three Pines with a unique cast of re-occurring characters.

Blog at lest once a month

Fail. In fact, I think my original resolution was to blog at least 2-3 times a month. Super fail. If I think about it, I believe I even intended to spruce up my blog. Epic fail. I don’t know about others, but finding time to blog is challenging. My day job has me in front of a computer all day so the last thing I want to do when I came home is spend more time in front of a computer. I have kids, a husband, a house, friends, other interests; honestly I don’t know where to find the time. I do enjoy blogging though. I find myself thinking about things in terms of whether they are blog-worthy, but then putting those thoughts on paper (in a computer?) seems to be the difficult part. Perhaps if I only commit to reading five books, I can use that time to blog? LOL. Alas, I have come to terms with the fact that this is my blog and I can choose to blog as much or as a little as I like. This makes me feel better.

Take more walks

I have done this. Perhaps not as consistently as I would like, but I have really tried to get out, clear my head, take in the view and just generally spend some time to myself. I have occasionally had my daughters come along with me and it’s nice to chat and discuss things with them, even if it’s about whether or not people walk their cats.

If only all my walks could be along the beach.
If only all my walks could be along the beach.

Buy a new house

Confession time. Yup, we bought a new house. It’s taken me quite some time (read: years) to convince my husband that we needed a larger home, but he finally got on board and in the summer we finally found the right house in the right neighbourhood. We decided to keep our first home and rent it out. So now we are officially landlords. All of this happened in the span of 2 months – from buying the home, to getting our house ready for renting to moving into our new home – it was a whirlwind. But I’m really glad we did it and I think it’s a great long-term strategy for us. So far things have been smooth, but this blog might be a good spot to share the journey – the ups and downs of being a landlord and owning an investment property. Stay tuned.

And now I will begin writing down my resolutions for 2016 and then writing a post about it so that I can at least  attempt to ‘blog more in 2016.’

Ann

 

Leave a Reply

